BIAW BESTOWS HIGHEST HONORS BIAW BESTOWS HIGHEST HONORS

BUILDER/ASSOCIATE/REMODELER OF THE YEAR, HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES AND 2018 SENIOR OFFICERS HONORED

BIAW recognized the Builder, Associate, and Remodeler of the Year award winners at its annual installation and awards ceremony on November 9 at Semiahmoo Resort. Below are this year's award winners. Congratulations!

BUILDER OF THE YEAR Matthew Clarkson

Matthew Clarkson, a custom homebuilder and owner of Soaring Eagle Homes, has made countless contributions to the building profession through his involvement in BIAW and his local association, the Building Industry Association of Clark County (BIACC).

During his two decades as a member, Clarkson has actively participated



Builder of the Year Matthew Clarkson proudly shows off his trophy during his acceptance speech.

ous BIAW committees and councils, chaired several committees, and served as BIAW President in 2010. While serving on BIAW's

in numer-

Executive Committee, he also attended numerous National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) meetings, providing a voice for BIAW at the national level.

In addition, he has also held multiple leadership roles in BIACC, including as President, and continues to serve in an advisory role for his local association. In recognition of his support of the industry, he's received awards from BIACC for his exceptional leadership as well as Building Excellence Awards for custom home projects that set a high bar for quality craftsmanship, design and safety. Clarkson is also a champion recruiter for his local association, having earned more than 300 Spike credits.

For his outstanding commitment to the home building industry, Clarkson was named a BIAW Life Director, a distinction that has been bestowed on only 44 members throughout the designation's history.

Clarkson's dedication, drive and dynamism have earned BIAW's highest honor as 2017 Builder of the Year.

ASSOCIATE OF THE YEAR Diane Glenn

Diane Glenn has been named as BIAW's 2017 Associate of the Year.

Glenn, owner of Construction Consultants of Washington, has worked tirelessly toward enhancing the home building industry at the local, state and national levels.

Over the years, she has been active on a variety of BIAW committees, and most recently served as 2017 chair of the Education Committee. In her local association, the Master Builders Association of King and Snohomish Counties (MBAKS), Glenn has served in leadership positions, including as president of the Education Foundation in 2003 and 2004 and as

a member of the MBAKS board of directors. She has also been active in the MBAKS Built Green program, conducting training and seminars for builders, managers, building officials, and many others. Her involvement also extends to NAHB, where she



Associate of the Year Diane Glenn takes a moment to thank everyone for their support.

has participated on many education-related committees.

As a stalwart supporter of education for the industry, she regularly presents seminars on important topics to home builders and remodelers on codes, energy efficiency, and other building-related issues. In addition,

Glenn is a BIAW-approved instructor for real estate clock hours, a building enclosure specialist and a certified Energy Star and Built Green verifier. Her knowledge and expertise led to her appointment to the Washington State Building Code Council.

Glenn has earned the BIAW 2017 Associate of the Year through her focus and dedication to supporting the home building industry.

See **BEST** on page 11

BOY NOMINEES//

Mike Auderer Olympia Master Builders

> **Nick Barnes** Spokane HBA

Matthew Clarkson BIA of Clark County

Tracy Gudgel N. Peninsula Building Assn.

Chris KnudsenBIA of Whatcom County

Bill Sager MBA of Pierce County

Sherry Schwab MBA of King & Snohomish Counties

> **Dale Turner** Central WA HBA

Miriam Villiard Kitsap Building Association

Gary Wray Skagit/Island Counties BA

LAOY NOMINEES//

Greg Boutain Central WA HBA

Bonnie Buffington MBA of Pierce County

Kelly Fox N. Peninsula Building Assn.

Diane GlennMBA of King & Snohomish
Counties

Melissa Helvey Spokane HBA

Sheri Hunzeker BIA of Clark County

LouAnne Neill HBA of Tri-Cities

Ron Perkerewicz Kitsap Building Association

David SimpsonBIA of Whatcom County

ROY NOMINEES//

Dennis E. Brubaker Central WA HBA

Charlie HudsonBIA of Whatcom County

Molly McCabeKitsap Building Association

Jennie McDonald Olympia Master Builders

David Millar BIA of Clark County

Tod SakaiMBA of King & Snohomish
Counties

Nick Scheel Spokane HBA

REMODELER OF THE YEAR Tod Sakai

Tod Sakai has been honored as BIAW Remodeler of the Year for 2017. Sakai, owner of Sockeye Homes, has been doing



Remodeler of the Year Tod Sakai gets a congratulatory hug from last year's winner Aaron Marvin. custom home building and remodeling projects for a decade in the Puget Sound region. Through his years as a member, he has been actively involved

in BIAW and MBAKS and has served as chair of both the BIAW and MBAKS Remodelers Council.

His company has been recognized with numerous awards for quality and excel-

lence at the local and state level, including BIAW's Excellence in Remodeling Awards and Remodeling Excellence Awards from both MBAKS and MBA of Pierce County. Sakai was also awarded MBAKS Remodeler Member of the Year in 2014. Additionally, Sockeye Homes has received numerous national remodeling and design awards and been recognized with Best of Houzz Service Awards two years in a row.

Above his commitment to the home building industry, Sakai is dedicated to giving back to his community. He is active in various ministries such as Vine Maple Place Homebuilder's Alliance and Habitat for Humanity and was a recipient of the 2007 Department of Corrections Volunteer Award for service to Rebuilding Families, Inc.

Sakai has received the BIAW 2017 Remodeler of the Year in recognition of his commitment to the home building industry in his community and across the state.

BUILDER OF THE YEAR NOMINEES

(I to r): Matthew Clarkson, Gary Wray, Bill Sager, Tracy Gudgel, Michael Giesen accepting for Mike Auderer, Carly Faul accepting for Dale Turner, Nick Barnes accepting for Nick Scheel, Sherry Schwab, Roger Almskaar accepting for Chris Knudsen and Miriam Villiard.



◄ ASSOCIATE OF THE YEAR NOMINEES

(I to r): Ron Perkerewicz, LouAnne Neill, Sheri Hunzeker, Dare Edmiston accepting for Melissa Helvey, Diane Glenn, Kelly Fox, Carly Faul accepting for Greg Boutain, and Scott Lee Wilson accepting for Bonnie Buffington. Not pictured: David Simpson.

REMODELER OF THE YEAR NOMINEES ▶ ▶

(I to r): Nick Scheel, Tod Sakai, *Tracy Doriot accepting for* David Millar, Jennie McDonald, *Teresa Taylor accepting for* Molly McCabe, *Roger Almskaar accepting for* Charlie Hudson, and *Carly Faul accepting for* Dennis E. Brubaker.

